Fire! is a the Nordic experimental supergroup formed in 2009 by the core trio of Mats Gustafsson (sax), Johan Berthling (bass guitar) and Andreas Werlin (drums) who joined together to develop a fresh approach to improvised music drawing on influences from free jazz, psychedelic rock, and noise.

© Johan Bergmark      Download Hi-ResMore Fire! Trio Images

In 2010 the group joined forces with musician Jim O’Rourke and the four of them toured Japan together, leading to the release of Fire! with Jim O’Rourke. Australian multi-instrumentalist Oren Ambarchi was the next collaborator, and they subsequently recorded the album Fire! with Oren Ambarchi.

In 2013, the group went massive — cherry-picking 28 members from the Scandinavian jazz, improvisation, and avant-garde rock music scene to supplement the core band’s sound for a concert at Stockholm’s legendary Fylkingen venue which resulted in the first Fire! Orchestra record ‘Exit!’.

Fire! Orchestra — Arrival!

© Johan Bergmark      Download Hi-ResMore Fire! Orchestra Images

Mariam Wallentin — voice
Sofia Jernberg — voice
Anna Lindal — violin
Leo Svensson — cello
Josefin Runsteen — violin
Katt Hernandez — violin
Per Texas Johansson — contrabass and bass clarinets
Christer Bothén — contrabass and bass clarinets
Isak Hedtjärn — Bb clarinet
Alexander Zethson — piano
Susana Santos Silva — trumpet
Mats Gustafsson — baritone sax
Johan Berthling — basses
Andreas Werliin — drums
Mikael Werliin — sound

The new version of Fire! Orchestra is here!!!

After the previous experiences of “EXIT”, “ENTER” and “RITUAL” – it is all about to change now.

A new line-up – a new concept – a new sound – and a new piece: ARRIVAL!

The new acoustic line-up features a dominant focus on strings and clarinets. This creates a whole new sound situation and puts a new twist on the way of working with the music. Rehearsals, research, compositional and structural work will take place in the fall of 2017. Touring, recording (for Rune Grammofon, of course) and festival activities for 2018 are the next phase of the plan, with a totally new way of working in a large setting with the usual hub of the Fire! trio as the force at the creative center of it all.

This configuration will use the experience of the previous pieces, while letting the members of this new version of the ensemble be way more active and involved in creating something unique and evolving together.

The voices of Mariam Wallentin and Sofia Jernberg will continue to be the creative frontline, with the Fire! Orchestra working in an entirely new way, even using a cover version of Robbie Basho’s “Blue Crystal Fire”.

Lines and layers of violin poetry will ARRIVE with the energy and melodic frenzy of clarinet esthetics.

Slow modules of riff fundaments will ARRIVE with the inyourface attitude of the dedicated voices of supreme beauty.

Pointilistic piano and harmonic freedom will ARRIVE with the wild trumpet lines of high energy densities and beauty.

It is all connected. It is all about sharing. It is all part of the ARRIVAL!

The ARRIVAL of something new.

The ARRIVAL of a new sound and colour!

The ARRIVAL of the new Fire! Orchestra

Music by Fire! & Mariam Wallentin

Lyrics by Mariam Wallentin

All arranged by Fire! Orchestra